Get the latest breaking headlines for the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship here on Track News.


The British Superbike Championship (BSB) is the leading road racing superbike championship in the United Kingdom.

The championship is managed and organised by MotorSport Vision. The Series and Race Director is Stuart Higgs. Event marshals are provided by the Racesafe Marshals Association.

Two annual championships are awarded, one for riders and one for manufacturers. A "Cup" class exists for riders running in privately owned teams; past champions of this include Shane Byrne in 2001, and James Ellison in 2004. This cup will be replaced in 2010 by an Evolution Class featuring less developed bikes.

Honda, Yamaha, Kawasaki and Suzuki will be the manufacturers for the 2009 season, after Ducati withdrew from the championship, although a 2008-spec bike was privately ran during the last two rounds. For 2010, Ducati, Honda, Yamaha, Kawasaki and Suzuki were joined for the first time in BSB by KTM, BMW and Aprilia who will run a evo spec bikes.

From 2008, the championship followed the Superbike World Championship in appointing Pirelli as the single control tyre supplier, until 2010. Previously most teams used Dunlop tyres, although the factory Hondas used Michelin and the factory Yamahas used Pirellis. Niall Mackenzie was the most successful rider of the 1990s, with three titles. Other past champions include Neil Hodgson, Australian Troy Bayliss and Steve Hislop. Chris 'the Stalker' Walker has finished as runner up 4 times. Many riders from the series have gone on to race in the Superbike World Championship or MotoGP.

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player