Get the latest breaking headlines for the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship here on Track News.

Brookes and Hickman share the spoils at Thruxton

Race One

Josh Brookes scored his first victory of the 2017 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship season for Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha at Thruxton this afternoon, stealing the lead from Peter Hickman in the closing stages in the first high-speed duel of the day. Pole sitter Jake Dixon had fired himself off the line fastest to lead on the opening lap ahead of Peter Hickman and Josh Brookes as Shane 'Shakey' Byrne dropped down the order after a mistake at the chicane that caused him to run on.

Two laps later and the BMW Safety Car was deployed when Billy McConnell crashed out, but when the race resumed Dixon was instantly under attack from Smiths Racing BMW’s Hickman. The Lincolnshire ace took the lead on the brakes into the chicane on lap nine, pushing Dixon into the clutches of Brookes.
Brookes though was determined and by lap 15 he was in the lead and with three laps to go he was able to edge out a slight advantage which he held until the chequered flag to claim the team their first race victory in the premier class.

Hickman had been embroiled in a battle with Dixon throughout the closing stages. The Smiths Racing BMW rider was able to fend off the attack over the final two laps to give the local team their best result in the championship to date with Dixon completing the podium. Byrne had fought his way back into fourth place with Christian Iddon battling to fifth place for Tyco BMW after keeping Jason O'Halloran in his wheel tracks on the leading Honda Fireblade.

Leon Haslam was seventh on the sole JG Speedfit Kawasaki with Bradley Ray equalling his best result of the season in eighth ahead of John Hopkins and Sylvain Guintoli featured in the top ten for the first time this year.

Race Two

The Smiths Racing BMW team celebrated a debut race win in the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship at Thruxton this afternoon as Peter Hickman delivered a hard-fought victory for the local team. Jake Dixon had again got off to a lightening start onboard the RAF Reserves Kawasaki to lead Hickman and race one winner Josh Brookes on the opening lap with the pack all lining up to try and gain the early advantage.

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne was determined to be back in podium contention and he had moved second by the end of lap two as Bradley Ray ended his race prematurely with a crash whilst running inside the top ten. Byrne had hit the front of the pack, but Dixon fought back strongly with a determined move at the chicane, but a lap later and the defending champion repaid the move in exactly the same place. Hickman was then ready to get involved in the fight for the lead and on the eighth lap he nudged his way ahead to lead for the Smiths Racing BMW team.

Byrne regained the position but Hickman wasn’t giving up and a lap later he was back at the front of the pack as Brookes had launched himself through to second place on the Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha. The Australian was then pushing for the lead, claiming the top spot on lap 14 as Byrne was dropping back dramatically before retiring. Brookes lead until the penultimate lap when he crashed out unhurt, leaving Hickman to hold the advantage with Dixon in second place at the finish. Meanwhile there was an epic scrap for the final podium position as Christian Iddon, Leon Haslam and Jason O'Halloran battled for the valuable points.

Haslam bided his time and waited until the last lap to make a move on the Tyco BMW rider to score the final podium place ahead of Iddon and O’Halloran with Martin Jessopp scoring an impressive sixth place. Lee Jackson held off Sylvain Guintoli for seventh place with James Ellison for McAMS Yamaha and Jakub Smrz for the Lloyd and Jones PR Racing BMW team completing the top ten.

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player